10th Ondo Assembly Inaugurated, As Oladiji Becomes Speaker

By Precious Oluwole

The 10th Ondo State House of Assembly has been officially inaugurated on Saturday.

The Clerk of the House, Barr. Benjamin Jaiyeola read the proclamation of the State Governor, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu for the first session of the 10th Assembly to begin in line with the constitution.

At the session, Hon. Olamide Oladiji aka Landmark from Ondo East constituency was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Ondo state House of Assembly, after a motion was moved by Hon. Temitope Komolafe, representing Ifedore constituency and was seconded by Hon. Abiola Oladapo, representing Ondo West 2, while Hon. Abayomi Akinruntan representing Ilaje constituency 1 emerged the Deputy Speaker.

Both the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker took Oaths of office which was conducted by the Clerk of the House. Thereafter, other members equally took their oaths of allegiance which was conducted by the new Speaker in accordance with the constitution.

While taking the oath of office as the speaker, Rt. Hon. Olamide Oladiji swore to serve the Assembly, maintain the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and use his office for the development of the state.

In his acceptance speech, he appreciated his colleagues for the confidence they have in him and for the good responsibility they have entrust in him.

The new speaker also appreciated Governor Akeredolu for his strong leadership and for providing an enabling environment that made the inauguration possible, APC chairman, Engr Ade Adetimehin and other party leaders and members, all the political leaders, members of the executive, Assembly staff for their doggedness.

“To my colleagues, this victory is for all of us, by electing me as the speaker, you demonstrated to the world that our legislature is living up to the dreams and aspiration. I pledge to you my colleagues that there will be a smooth relationship between the legislature and the executive in order for us to achieve success”.

The 26 Members-elect had earlier laid their original certificates of return before the House for authentication.

The 26 newly inaugurated Lawmakers are: Oluwole Emmanuel Ogunmolasuyi Owo I, Oladiji Olamide Ondo East, Ololade Gbegudu Okitipupa II, Abayomi Akinruntan Ilaje I, Morenike Witherspoon Owo II, Olawunmi Fayemi Ilaje II, Princess Tosin Ogunlowo Ajirotutu, Idanre, Chris Ayebusiwa, Okitipupa I , Olatunji Ifabiyi, Odigbo I, Stephen Abitogun, Akure II, Temitope Akokolafe, Ifedore, Moyinolorun Ogunwumiju, Ondo West I, Dr. Christopher Ogunlana, Irele, Mrs Morenike Witherspoon, Owo II, Oladapo John Biola, Ondo West II, Messiah Allen, Ese-Odo, Oluwarotimi Fasonu, Odigbo II, Oshatti Olatunji Emmanuel, Ose; Murtala Suleiman, Akoko South East; Fatai Tiamiyu Atere, Akoko North West 1; Victor Japhet, Akoko North East, Kolawole Ologede, Akure North Oguntodu Olajide, Akure I, Oluwatoyin Daodu, Akoko Southwest I, Tope Agbulu, Akoko Southwest II, and Felix Afe, Akoko Northwest II.

The principal officers of the house includes ; Hon. Oluwole Ogunmolasuyi as the Majority leader, Hon. Tosin Ogunlowo, as the deputy majority leader, Hon. Tunde Fasonu as the Chief Whip, Hon. Oluwatoyin Japhet as the deputy chief whip, Hon. Moyinlorun Ogunwumiju as the Parliamentary Secretary, Hon. Ololade Gbegudu as the deputy parliamentary secretary, Hon. Olajide Oguntodu as the minority leader and Hon. Oluwatoyin Daodu.

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News